The purpose of the Heritage Preservation Commission is to:

  • Safeguard the heritage of the City by preserving sites and structures which reflect elements of the City's cultural, social, economic, political, visual or architectural history.
  • Protect and enhance the City's appeal to residents, visitors, and tourists and serve as a support and stimulus to business and industry.
  • Foster civic pride in the beauty and notable accomplishments of the past.
  • Promote the preservation and continued use of historic sites and structures for the education and general welfare of the people of the City.

The Heritage Preservation Commission consist of seven (7) voting members appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Council, as follows: one (1) local architect; one (1) Planning Commissioner; one (1) Hibbing Historical Society member recommended by the Society Board; one (1l) staff member from the City Assessor's office; and three (3) members-at-large who are residents of the City.

The Commission meets four times a year at the will of commission members.

All boards and commissions are governed by Chapter 2 Section 15 of the City Ordinances. In addition the Historic Preservation Commission is also governed by Section 2.29 of the City Ordinances.


Board Members Term Expires Phone




Roger Saccoman, Local Architect
(218) 262-4059
Kari Kilen,St. Louis CountyAssessor clerk
(218) 262-6089
Thomas Kautto, Planning Commission
(218) 262-0686
Mary Keyes, Hibbing Historical Society